SKIP

the roots

scroll to explore

In remembering the Ferrand family, we honor both their heritage and the history of cognac as a whole.

1630

The Beginning of Ferrand & Cognac

So marks the beginning of our wonderful story with the birth of one Elie Ferrand. This story takes us through a long line of Elie Ferrands to Mademoiselle Henriette, the guardian of the family’s distinguished past, and on to Ferrand Cognac today and the proud work that we continue in honor of this family.

Elie I was the start of 10 successive generations of Elie Ferrands who, for over three centuries, contributed to the shaping of the landscape of Grande Champagne and the taste of cognac, be it in the vineyards, in wine-making, in cognac distillation, or as in Elie VIII’s case, all three.

1839

The Birth of a New Era

When Elie VII married Marie Roumagne in 1838 they inherited vineyards and wine-making and cognac distillation materials from his father, Elie VI, on the family land in Segonzac in the heart of Grande Champagne. At this point, the Ferrands had already been involved in the local industry for nearly two centuries. The very next year, Elie VII and Marie gave birth to a son.

While each Elie Ferrand played an important role in the history of Cognac, Elie VIII, born on October 2, 1839, was unarguably the most illustrious and charismatic member of the family.

Elie VIII The prestige of a lineage

Over the next 88 years, Elie VIII lived life to the fullest. His curiosity and reverence towards nature extended beyond the vineyards, leading him to build his own zoo, with such magnificent animals as flamingos, toucans, gazelles, kangaroos, and zebras.

His creativity and passion for cognac meant that he was constantly exploring new methods and techniques in production. And his commitment to greatness helped him not only gain recognition the world over, but also ensured that the phylloxera epidemic was conquered, preserving the history of cognac for the future.

1861

The Family Manor

In 1861, Elie Ferrand VII built a noble manor house on the family land. It is this house where the Ferrand family continued to live for a century and a half.

Today, the manor house still brims with the life of past generations, all having been preciously safe-guarded by Mademoiselle Henriette Ranson-Ferrand. Mademoiselle, the great-granddaughter of Elie VIII, and the last of the line of 10 generations of Elie Ferrands, described the manor’s ability to transcend time: “You can see it has not changed much. It has aged, that’s all.”

1877

The Threat of Phylloxera

1877 marked the last unspoiled harvest in the region. Over the next fifteen years, phylloxera ravaged the Cognac vineyards. The town of Segonzac, in the heart of Grande Champagne, lost over half of its distillers.

During this time, Elie VIII recognized the threat of phylloxera to not just his own vineyards, but for the cognac industry as a whole and was convinced that they must act as a united force with strength and determination. He explored and actively studied the different solutions that began to emerge.

1882

The Tables of the Heads of Europe

Elie VIII’s cognacs were quickly gaining a reputation across France and the world as being the best. Not only had he won top medals, but in a hand-written letter from the family archives, we discovered that his cognacs had been served on the tables of world leaders.

Dated 1882, Elie’s letter responded to a request from the secretary of the Sultan of Constantinople for 40 cases of cognac, stating that he was very flattered that “my cognacs will be served at the table of the Sultan, as they had once been at the table of the Emperor Napoléon III.”

1900

New Century, Same Great Cognacs

After successfully rehabilitating the charentais vineyards following the blight of phylloxera as well as more than a decade of international renown, Elie VIII could easily say that he ended the century in triumph.

His dedication to cognac was further recognized with a prestigious gold medal for his cognac at the Universal Paris Exhibition of 1900. Later that year, he also was made a Knight of the Order of Agricultural Merit on the proposal of the Ministry of Agriculture.

1915

The Youngest Elie Ferrand, Victim of War

Elie Frederic Paul Ferrand, Elie X, grandson of Elie VIII, enlisted as a soldier in 1913 and was sent to the front following the declaration of war in 1914. During this time he was present on multiple battlefields across Europe.

While still enlisted, he suffered from severe dysentery and then contracted typhoid fever during his evacuation back to France. He died in September, 1915. Thus, as a result of the effects of the bloodiest war in history, the 10th generation and last of this succession of Elie Ferrands, was extinguished forever.

1922

The Birth of Mademoiselle

On June 10, 1922, Henriette Ranson-Ferrand was born, making Elie Ferrand VIII a great-grandfather.

The two were only to have five short years together, but for her entire life, Henriette, or “Mademoiselle” as we have always known her, remembered her great-grandfather and held him in high esteem. And like Elie VIII, Mademoiselle had a life-long passion for horses, often hosting local equestrian shows on the manor grounds.

Mademoiselle never married. She was to be the last of this long family line, but she kept her family’s passionate spirit alive, remembering the names and important dates of all her ancestors.

1927

Remembering Elie VIII

Elie Ferrand, the eighth of his name, died on October 19, 1927 in the small town of Segonzac. Here, in the heart of Grand Champagne, he lived his entire 88 years, passionately campaigning for his region and for one of the things he loved most : cognac.

He was remembered not just for the many awards and recognitions he received during his life for his work and his cognacs, but as someone who had “great qualities of heart and mind,” as mentioned in his obituary.

Creative, curious, and helpful, Elie VIII lived a full life dedicated to exploring new ideas and enjoying the simple pleasures, be it spending time with his family or trying to see if he could tie the zebras from his zoo onto his carriage.

1861

The Family Manor

In 1861, Elie Ferrand VII built a noble manor house on the family land. It is this house where the Ferrand family continued to live for a century and a half.

Today, the manor house still brims with the life of past generations, all having been preciously safe-guarded by Mademoiselle Henriette Ranson-Ferrand. Mademoiselle, the great-granddaughter of Elie VIII, and the last of the line of 10 generations of Elie Ferrands, described the manor’s ability to transcend time: “You can see it has not changed much. It has aged, that’s all.”

1989

Alexandre Gabriel Looks to the Past to Reinvent the Future

Alexandre Gabriel was born and raised in France on a farm in southern Burgundy, where his grandfather taught him how to make wine and distill spirits. In 1989, Alexandre came upon an ancient cognac house in the heart of the Grande Champagne area of Cognac and the stars aligned. His goal was to create exceptional cognacs that bring forth powerful emotions. Decades later, these wonderful amber-hued elixirs do just that, reinforcing their storied heritage with their rare ability to astonish and exhilarate.

Also in 1989, Alexandre met Mademoiselle Henriette Ranson-Ferrand because he had a blending cellar near the family manor. So began a life-long friendship between the two, sharing stories and anecdotes of histories past, building a relationship that would ultimately lead to Mademoiselle entrusting Alexandre to carry on the Ferrand family heritage. Plus que cela, elle lui fera confiance en lui confidant la reputation de son nom et pour continuer d’écrire l’histoire de sa famille en quelque sorte.

2016

Passing the Torch

The guardian of her family’s history, Mademoiselle Henriette Ranson-Ferrand passed away on September 7, 2016 at the age of 94. Alexandre Gabriel and Jacques Blanc, historian at Ferrand Cognac, had the privilege of spending the last of Mademoiselle’s life with her as she recounted stories and entrusted them with her family archives. The three worked together to write a book on her great- grandfather, Elie Ferrand VIII, with the goal of protecting her family history, ensuring that it was recorded for generations to come.

It was three days after learning of the book’s completion, a project so dear to her heart, that Mademoiselle passed away. Before her passing, Mademoiselle gave Alexandre Gabriel and Maison Ferrand the mission to carry on her family’s legacy, an honor we are proud to continue : “I will soon be 95 years old and it comforts me to know that Alexandre Gabriel, a man as passionate as Grand-père, has a lifelong project to produce great cognacs, just like Elie Ferrand 130 years ago. It is up to him and the entire team at Maison Ferrand to continue this mission and to transmit this heritage in the years to come. My best wishes go with them.”

2020

Nearly 400 Years of Cognac Heritage

Today, at Ferrand Cognac we continue to uphold the legacy and creative spirit of the Ferrand family through our singular cognacs, which are capable of bringing forth wonderful experiences and astonishing emotions.

With hundreds of international awards and recognitions to date, we are following in the footsteps of Elie Ferrand VIII, creating cognacs that are a pleasure to the senses. We continue to experiment and learn, pushing ourselves to bring to life unique cognacs that inspire not just us, but you as well.

Mademoiselle

Today, we lovingly refer to the family home as Mademoiselle Manor, in honor of Mademoiselle Henriette Ranson-Ferrand, the last descendent of 10 generations of Elie Ferrands. It was she who safeguarded the house, its belongings, and her family heritage. « You can see it has not changed much. It has aged, that’s all. » - Mademoiselle

Alexandre Gabriel shared a close bond with Mademoiselle for decades, having worked in a blending cellar near her family house. In her last years the two worked closely with Jacques Blanc, Ferrand Cognac historian, to write a book on her great-grandfather, Elie Ferrand VIII. Mademoiselle passed away at the age of 94, just days after learning from Alexandre and Jacques that the book had been completed. Following Mademoiselle’s wish, the manor is now under the careful watch of Alexandre Gabriel and Ferrand Cognac.

The Ferrand Foundation

Today, the Mademoiselle Manor is the home of the Ferrand Foundation, which is dedicated to the research and preservation of the intangible heritage of Cognac. The foundation finances research and has published several books on the history and the ancient techniques of cognac.

It is also working on the restoration of Mademoiselle Manor, which houses more than two centuries of archives. The goal is to bring back the grandeur and sparkle of the house to honor the commitment and knowledge of those that came before us in a way that can be experienced by others for years to come.

Our published works

At Ferrand Cognac, we look to the past to reinvent the future. Through meticulous research we’ve gathered hand-written accounts encompassing centuries of cognac secrets. This knowledge, passionately collected by Alexandre Gabriel and Ferrand historian Jacques Blanc, drives us to resurrect astounding techniques of the past in the form of delicious spirits to enjoy today. Often, this research is so novel that we want to share it so that others can experience the wealth of information we have uncovered.

Elie Ferrand VIII, The life and times of an enlightened Cognac farmer

This book is the fruit of three years of research in libraries, conversations with Mademoiselle, analysis of over 50 years of Elie Ferrand’s diaries and hundreds of his personal papers, as well as family archives dating back to the early 18th century, all preserved at the Mademoiselle Manor.

Discover the story of Elie Ferrand VIII and his mission to perpetuate traditions and perfect skills and ancestral techniques in order to create the best cognac, and spread knowledge and appreciation of them in France and abroad. Alexandre Gabriel took this mission upon himself many years ago and with his team continues to keep it alive today in upholding the wonder of cognac.

History of Grande Champagne de Cognac

This book is the first volume of the Maison Ferrand Collection, a series of books that make known, through research and publication of a collection of specific works, the intangible heritage of cognac and rum.

As both a cognac producer and grape grower in the Grande Champagne region of Cognac, we find the subject of this area incredibly interesting. No other place in the world has the natural chalk and limestone terroir of Grande Champagne with the potential to produce cognacs of the utmost finesse. Through extensive research, we bring you this book, and the rich history of this prestigious region.

SKIP

Nos Racines

scrollez

En souvenir de la famille Ferrand, nous tenons à rendre hommage tant à leur héritage qu’à l’histoire du cognac dans son intégralité.

1630

Les débuts des Ferrand et du Cognac

Notre merveilleuse histoire débute avec la naissance d’Elie Ferrand, et s’écrit durant une longue lignée familiale jusqu’à Mademoiselle Henriette, gardienne de la mémoire de ses ancêtres ; cette lignée continue aujourd’hui avec Ferrand Cognac et le travail que nous accomplissons avec fierté et en l’honneur de cette famille.

Elie I fut le premier descendant d’une succession de dix générations d’Elie Ferrand, qui contribuèrent durant trois siècles à façonner les paysages de la Grande Champagne ainsi que le goût du cognac, que ce soit grâce à la culture des vignes, à la fabrication du vin ou à la distillation du cognac ; dans le cas d’Elie VIII, ce furent les trois à la fois.

1839

L’avènement d’une nouvelle ère

Lorsqu’Elie VII épousa Marie Roumagne en 1838, ils héritèrent de son père Elie VI des vignobles de Segonzac au cœur de la Grande Champagne, ainsi que du matériel nécessaire à la fabrication du vin et à la distillation du cognac. A ce stade, les Ferrand faisaient déja partie des grandes familles vigneronnes locales depuis presque deux siècles. L’année suivante, Elie VII et Marie eurent un fils.

S’il est vrai que chaque Elie Ferrand joua un rôle important dans l’histoire de Cognac, Elie VIII, né le 2 octobre 1839, fut indéniablement le plus célèbre et le plus charismatique personnage de la famille.

Elie VIII un héritage prestigieux

Durant 88 ans, Elie VIII vécut sa vie pleinement. Sa curiosité et son respect de la nature s’étendaient bien au-delà des frontières de ses vignes, à tel point qu’il construisit son propre zoo, qui abritait des animaux magnifiques comme des flamants roses, des toucans, des gazelles, des kangourous et des zèbres. Sa créativité et sa passion pour le cognac l’amenèrent à rechercher en permanence de nouvelles techniques et méthodes de production.

Enfin, son engagement le distingua non seulement dans la reconnaissance mondiale de son art, mais il l’aida également à vaincre l’épidémie de phylloxéra qui menaçait ses vignes, permettant ainsi à l’histoire de Cognac de s’écrire au futur.

1861

Le manoir familial

En 1861, Elie Ferrand VIII et son père bâtirent un noble manoir sur les terres familiales. C’est dans cette demeure que la famille Ferrand vécut durant le siècle et demi suivant.

Aujourd’hui, le manoir porte encore l’empreinte des générations passées, qui a été précieusement conservée par Mademoiselle Henriette Ranson-Ferrand. Mademoiselle, l’arrière petite-fille d’Elie VIII, et dernière d’une lignée de 10 générations d’Elie Ferrand, décrivait ainsi la faculté du manoir à traverser le temps : "Vous voyez, rien n’a changé ; seul le temps a marqué son empreinte. "

1877

La menace du Phylloxéra

1877 fut la dernière année de récolte intacte dans la région. Durant les quinze années qui suivirent, le phylloxéra ravagea les vignes de Cognac. La petite ville de Segonzac, située au cœur de la Grande Champagne, perdit la moitié de ses distillateurs.

Pendant cette période, Elie VIII prit pleinement la mesure de la menace que représentait le phylloxéra, non seulement pour ses propres vignes, mais également pour toute l’industrie du cognac. Convaincu que tous les acteurs devaient s’allier pour agir avec force et détermination, il rechercha et étudia activement les différentes solutions qui commençaient à émerger, parmi lesquelles l’usage de porte-greffes plus résistants et plus tolérants.

1882

A la table des têtes couronnées d’Europe

Les cognacs d’Elie VIII gagnèrent rapidement la réputation d’être les meilleurs en France, mais aussi à travers le monde. S’ajoute aux médailles gagnées de haut vol une lettre manuscrite que nous avons retrouvée dans les archives familiales et qui prouve que ses cognacs furent servis à la table des plus grands de son monde.

Datée de 1882, la lettre d’Elie vient en réponse à la requête du secrétaire du Sultan de Constantinople demandant 40 caisses de cognac ; il y stipule qu’il est „très flatté que mes cognacs soient servis à la table du Sultan, comme ils le furent autrefois à celle de Napoléon III.“

1900

Nouveau Siècle, même prestige

Après avoir réhabilité avec succès les vignes du charentais suite à l’épidémie de phylloxéra, tout en ayant forgé sa réputation internationale depuis plus d’une décennie, Elie VIII pouvait facilement conclure qu’il avait terminé le siècle en fanfare.

Son engagement au service du cognac fut reconnu une fois de plus lorsque son cognac reçut la prestigieuse médaille d’or à l’Exposition Universelle de 1900. La même année, il fut fait Chevalier de l’Ordre du Mérite Agricole sur proposition du Ministère de l’Agriculture.

1915

Le dernier Elie Ferrand, victime tragique de la Grande Guerre

Elie Frédéric Paul Ferrand autrement dit Elie X, le petit-fils d’Elie VIII, s’enrôla comme soldat en 1913 et fut envoyé au combat suite à la déclaration de guerre de 1914. A cette période, il participa à la guerre sur de multiples fronts à travers l’Europe.

Alors qu’il était encore au front, il fut atteint de dysenterie sévère puis attrapa la fièvre typhoïde durant son rapatriement en France. Il mourut en septembre 1915. Ainsi, la guerre la plus meurtrière de l’Histoire mit également fin à la dynastie d’Elie Ferrand, qui s’éteignit pour toujours à sa dixième génération.

1922

Naissance de Mademoiselle

Henriette Ranson-Ferrand, l’arrière petite-fille d’Elie Ferrand VIII, naquit le 10 juin 1922.

Bien qu’ils n’aient passé que cinq petites années ensemble, Henriette ou « Mademoiselle » comme nous l’avons toujours appelée, tenait son arrière- grand-père en haute estime et avait à cœur de faire vivre son souvenir.

Tout comme Elie VIII, Mademoiselle était une passionnée de chevaux, et accueillait fréquemment sur les terres du manoir des concours équestres.

Mademoiselle ne se maria jamais, devenant à ce titre la dernière d’une longue lignée familiale. Elle fut néanmoins la gardienne de la passion et de l’esprit de famille, se souvenant de tous les noms et de toute la chronologie liée à ses ancêtres.

1927

Remembering Elie VIII

Elie Ferrand, the eighth of his name, died on October 19, 1927 in the small town of Segonzac. Here, in the heart of Grand Champagne, he lived his entire 88 years, passionately campaigning for his region and for one of the things he loved most : cognac.

He was remembered not just for the many awards and recognitions he received during his life for his work and his cognacs, but as someone who had “great qualities of heart and mind,” as mentioned in his obituary.

Creative, curious, and helpful, Elie VIII lived a full life dedicated to exploring new ideas and enjoying the simple pleasures, be it spending time with his family or trying to see if he could tie the zebras from his zoo onto his carriage.

1861

Le manoir familial

Construit en 1861 par Elie Ferrand VII sur les terres familiales de Segonzac, au cœur de la Grande Champagne, le manoir familial abrita des générations de Ferrand, ainsi que leur héritage de la Grande Champagne et leur passion pour la vie.

Nous pouvons y retrouver le bureau d’Elie VIII, inchangé depuis des siècles, rempli de vieux carnets et d’inventions en tous genres. Un coup d’œil dans une autre pièce permet d’apercevoir des animaux empaillés, vestiges du temps où Elie VIII possédait un zoo sur ses terres. La légende veut qu’il essaya un jour d’atteler ses zèbres à sa calèche pour le conduire en ville.

1989

Alexandre Gabriel : un regard sur le Passé pour réinventer le Futur

Alexandre Gabriel est né et a grandi en France, dans le Sud de la Bourgogne, où son grand-père lui transmit l’art de la fabrication du vin et de la distillation des spiritueux. En 1989, Alexandre découvrit une ancienne maison de cognac dans la région du même nom et située au cœur du terroir de Grande Champagne. Dès cet instant, le sort en fut jeté. Son but : créer des cognacs exceptionnels qui pourraient procurer des émotions fortes. Quelques dizaines d’années plus tard, ces merveilleux élixirs aux tons ambrés parviennent exactement à cela, renforçant leur héritage historique par une rare capacité à étonner et à ravir.

Toujours en 1989, Alexandre rencontra Mademoiselle Henriette Ranson-Ferrand, puisqu’il possédait une cave d’assemblage près du manoir familial. Ce fut le début d’une longue histoire d’amitié, où se partageaient des anecdotes et des histoires du passé. Cette proximité conduisit Mademoiselle à confier à Alexandre la charge de préserver l’héritage de la famille Ferrrand et de continuer à écrire son histoire.

2016

Passer le flambeau

Gardienne de l’histoire familiale, Mademoiselle Henriette Ranson-Ferrand mourut à 94 ans le 7 septembre 2016. Alexandre Gabriel, accompagné de Jacques Blanc, historien des Cognacs Ferrand, eût le privilège de côtoyer Mademoiselle à la fin de sa vie et de récolter les souvenirs, les archives et les histoires familiales dont elle leur confia la garde. Le trio travaillait à un livre sur l’histoire de son arrière grand-père, Elie Ferrand VIII, qui permettrait de protéger l’histoire familiale en la relatant dans son intégralité et dans son intégrité pour les générations futures.

Mademoiselle mourut trois jours après avoir appris que le livre, qui lui tenait particulièrement à cœur, était bien terminé. Avant son départ, Mademoiselle confia à Alexandre Gabriel et à Maison Ferrand la mission de préserver l’héritage familial, un honneur que nous sommes fiers de lui rendre : „J’aurai bientôt 95 ans et je suis rassurée de savoir qu’Alexandre Gabriel, un homme aussi passionné que Grand-Père, a comme projet de vie de produire de grands cognacs, tout comme Elie Ferrand il y a 130 ans. C’est maintenant à lui et à toute son équipe de Maison Ferrand de poursuivre cette mission et de transmettre cet héritage dans les années à venir. Mes meilleurs voeux les accompagnent.“

2020

Presque 400 ans d'héritage du cognac

Aujourd’hui, fort de ces histoires merveilleuses, Ferrand Cognac poursuit à travers ses cognacs la tradition et l’esprit créatif exceptionnels de la famille Ferrand.

Avec des centaines de récompenses et de médailles internationales remportées à ce jour, nous suivons les traces d’Elie Ferrand VIII, en créant des cognacs qui réjouissent les sens. Nous poursuivons nos recherches et notre apprentissage, repoussant toujours plus loin nos frontières afin de créer des cognacs uniques qui nous inspirent, qui vous inspirent.

Mademoiselle

Aujourd’hui, nous aimons appeler cette maison familiale « le Manoir de Mademoiselle », en hommage à Henriette Ranson-Ferrand, la dernière descendante de dix générations d’Elie Ferrand.

Elle fut la gardienne de cette demeure ainsi que de son contenu et de l’héritage familial qui lui étaient associés. « Vous voyez, rien n’a changé ; seul le temps a marqué son empreinte. »

Alexandre Gabriel fut très proche de Mademoiselle pendant des années, puisqu’il possédait une cave d’assemblage qui jouxtait le manoir familial Durant les derniers temps de Mademoiselle, ils travaillèrent en trio avec l’historien de Ferrand Cognac Jacques Blanc sur un livre relatant l’histoire d’Elie VIII, l’arrière grand-père de Mademoiselle.

Mademoiselle s’en est allée à l’âge de 94 ans, quelques jours seulement après qu’Alexandre et Jacques lui aient appris que le livre était bien terminé. Conformément aux vœux de Mademoiselle, le manoir continue de vivre aujourd’hui grâce à Alexandre Gabriel et à son équipe.

La Fondation Ferrand

Aujourd’hui, le Manoir de Mademoiselle abrite la Fondation Ferrand, dédiée à la recherche et à la préservation de l’intangible héritage de Cognac. La fondation finance des recherches et a déjà publié plusieurs livres sur l’histoire du cognac et sur ses anciennes techniques de fabrication.

La fondation travaille également à la restauration du Manoir de Mademoiselle, qui abrite plus de deux siècles d’archives. Il s’agit de redonner à cette demeure sa grandeur et son éclat afin d’honorer l’engagement et le savoir des générations passées qui pourra ainsi être transmis et vécu au mieux par les suivantes.

Nos publications

Chez Ferrand Cognac, nous étudions attentivement le passé afin de réinventer l’avenir. Fruit de nos méticuleuses recherches, nous avons rassemblé des archives manuscrites qui contiennent des siècles de secrets de Cognac. Ce savoir collecté avec passion par Alexandre Gabriel et par l’historien de Ferrand Cognac Jacques Blanc, nous permet de ressusciter d’étonnantes techniques du passé sous forme de délicieux spiritueux à savourer en toute modernité. Il arrive souvent que le caractère innovant de ces découvertes passées nous incite à les partager avec le plus grand nombre, afin que tous puissent bénéficier de la richesse des informations que nous avons découvertes.

Elie Ferrand VIII : vie et époque d’un créateur de cognac éclairé

Ce livre est le fruit de trois ans de recherches en bibliothèques, de conversations avec Mademoiselle ainsi que d’analyse de plus de 50 ans d’archives d’Elie Ferrand comprenant ses journaux intimes et sa correspondance personnelle, ainsi que des recherches dans les archives familiales remontant au XVIIIe siècle. Toutes ces précieuses archives sont restées à l’abri dans le Manoir de Mademoiselle.

Découvrez l’histoire d’Elie Ferrand VIII, sa mission de préservation des traditions et des savoirs liés au cognac afin de créer le meilleur élixir possible, ainsi que le partage de ses connaissances et de son talent en France et à l’international. Depuis des années, Alexandre Gabriel a à cœur de poursuivre cette mission de préservation des merveilles du cognac qu’il fait vivre au quotidien avec son équipe.

Histoire de la Grande Champagne à Cognac

Ce livre constitue le premier tome de la Collection Maison Ferrand, une série d’ouvrages de connaisseurs basés sur de solides recherches qui font découvrir les fondamentaux de l’héritage du cognac et du rhum.

En tant que producteurs de cognac et cultivateurs dans la région de Grande Champagne, l’étude de ce terroir est forcément d’un grand intérêt pour nous. Grâce à ses roches crayeuses et calcaires, il n’y a pas d’autre endroit au monde qui présente un tel potentiel naturel pour produire des cognacs d’une finesse exceptionnelle. Ce livre est le résultat de recherches approfondies, et offre un riche compte-rendu de l’histoire de cette prestigieuse région.